Liver & Bacon (that won’t make you gag)

Really?

Yes – really! I know a lot of people really don’t like offal – it brings back memories (bad memories) of tough, over-cooked and sad looking animal remnants. But the truth is, liver is a really nutritious food source & full of good stuff like vitamins and other good stuff too (please note that I am not a nutritionist). About a year ago, our running club had their awards night and we all had to choose up front what we were having from the menu – and there in all it’s glory was a liver and mashed potato dish. Feeling virtuous I chose the liver, with a pang of concern that I wouldn’t have anything to eat if I didn’t like it on the night. However I was pleasantly surprised and have had it a couple of times since when eating out.

But today as I was driving home, I wondered what I could have for lunch that would be quick, easy and nutritious. I should also mention that I have embarked on the 5 day phase 1 plan of the Harcombe Diet (another story) which means I needed something not processed in any way, and that fits in with the plan. As I was stopping at the butchers to pick up a chicken, I spied some lambs liver looking plump and gross next to the minted lamb shank (much more appealing) and decided to ask for a couple of livers. Turns out, they’re also really cheap – probably because they’re hard enough to sell.

I got home, and concocted this little number which I thought tasted awesome, filled me up and looked lush too.

Let me know what you think!


Ingredients

  • 1 lambs liver sliced into 1 inch slithers
  • 2 rashers of unsmoked bacon – chopped
  • 1 shallot onion diced
  • asparagus blades
  • butter
  • 2 tablespoons natural yogurt (I use Yeo Valley)
  • 3 thyme sprigs
  • 1 fresh bay leaf
  • flat leaf parsley
  • salt & pepper
  • 1 tsp tamari (or soy sauce)
  • microwaveable wholegrain rice

Serves 1

5 minutes prep – 15 minutes cooking

In a large frying pan, melt the butter on a medium heat and gently saute the onion until it softens with the thyme & bay leaf, then add the bacon. When the bacon is cooked through, add the asparagus (I only used this as I had them to hand from a twin-veg pack in the fridge – otherwise I would have had tenderstem broccoli) and put the lid over to help it steam for a few minutes.

You may need to add a smidge more butter if it looks a bit dry, and then tip in the liver slices. At this point, put the rice in the microwave according to the package instructions). Once the liver is looking cooked (not bloody anymore), add in the natural yogurt and let it cover all the bacon, liver and asparagus.

Add in the tamari, stir and take it off the heat. Top the rice with the bacon & liver mix (removing the bay leaf) and then top with a small handful of fresh parsley, salt & pepper.

Eat straight away.

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

